Mutharika Appoints New Mec Commissioners

Finally, President Peter Mutharika has appointed new commissioners for Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) with Elvey Mtafu as only one to be reappointed from the previous crew of commissioners.

Mutharika made the appointments in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by Section 4 (1) of the Electoral Commission Act Chapter 2:03 of the Laws of Malawi.

Mutharika with former MEC Commissioners

Mutharika with former MEC Commissioners

The new appointments have been dominated by women. The new commissioners include Mulhako wa Alhomwe’s influential member Jean mathanga.

Others are Livingstonia Synod CCAP clergy Rev Clifford Baloyi and another faith leader Rev Killion Mgawi.

Also appointed as commissioners are Moffat Banda, former deputy governor of Reserve Bank of Malawi (RBM) Mary Nkosi, Yahaya M’madi and activist Linda Kunje.

Here is the full list:

1. Ms. Jean Mathanga
2. Rev. Clifford Baloyi
3. Mr. Moffat Banda
4. Ms. Elvey Mtafu
5. Ms. Mary Nkosi
6. Ms. Linda Kunje
7. Mr. Yahaya M’madi
8. Rev. Killion Mgawi

Facebook Comments
Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Please enable javascript.
Or you can post by following procedure.
1.Please click on the link [GET TOKEN-CODE],then it is displayed.
2.Enter displayed token-code to "TOKEN INPUT".